Perished 

Seeing through lifeless eyes.

Each day that passes us by,

chances for our love to survive.

Splayed, frayed, coming apart.

Bruised hearts.

Struggling to thrive.

I believed,when you said you loved me.

I believed,

in the impossible dream.

Words gone stale.

Your soul has turned pale.

I need to tell my soul.

It was to good to be true.

Seeing now through lifeless eyes.

Each day just passes by,

with each chance for love to survive.

Splayed, frayed, and come apart.

These bruised hearts struggle to thrive. 

I believed,

when you said you loved me.

I believed,

in this impossible dream.

The words now gone stale.

Your soul has turned pale.

And through the veil,

I struggled to see.

I need to tell my soul

It was too good 

To be true. 

The joke was on me.

Leave a Reply

