Tides

As evening starts to shape into night, 

The dark sky blankets my thoughts.

Concealing the tears that escape my eyes. 

I find myself on the shoreline.

Wondering as your day begins, 

Hoping sleep found your weary mind.

Praying that peace enters your heart.

I write your name in the sand.

The water washes it away.

I speak your name to the sea, 

Hoping the cool winds bring the word to your ears

I whisper my dreams into the air.

Words never said aloud.

Never to be said in daylight hours 

I write your name in the sand. 

The water washes it away. 

Can something so broken ever be fixed?

Can someone so lost ever be found.

I shout your name as the night sky approaches.

Hoping you can hear me.

I write your name in the sand.

The water takes it away…

Hoping it washes upon your shores.

One thought on “Tides

Leave a Reply

